My First Stab at 3D Modelling

Posted: October 11, 2011 in Unity, Video Game Development, Video Games
Tags: , , , ,

While looking for a new model to use for the new Power up I wanted, I was unable to find one that I liked and could use. I found a couple that were OK, but they were in formats that I couldn’t use correctly in Unity for my game. So I downloaded Blender, and decided to try my hand at some simple 3D modelling!

 

After watching a few tutorials on using Blender, I jumped right into to modelling. I wanted to model a glass bottle to use in my game. This bottle would be a power up that would increase the strength of Lerpz auto attacks. After following the following tutorial: http://forum.nystic.com/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=7709 and adding a few variations of my own, I successfully made my model! It’s a super simple model. Basically just a blue bottle, but the fact that I was successfully able to do this really suprises me! I was never very good at graphic related stuff, as I usually focused on the programming aspect of my project, but Blender turned out to be vrey easy to use.

 

For anyone looking to get into 3D modelling but doesn’t have the cash to spend on one of the more expensive software out there, BLender is a great tool. The website to download blender is: http://www.blender.org/

 

Screenshot of the Bottle in my Unity Scene view can be seen below.

My Bottle Model imported into Unity

 

 

Leave a Reply

