It’s been a while since I posted an update, as I’ve been very busy these past few weeks, but I figured I’d give a quick synopsis of the progress i’ve made with the game I am developing. I’m not at my home computer, so unfortunately I can’t post any screenshots now. Perhaps I will later today.

 

Environment

The Environment in the game is like many other isometric simulation games. It takes a isometric top view, with a tiled board that you build things on. These buildings take up 1,2,4,etc. tiles (right now there are only 1 tile and 4 tile buildings). The models are more or less medieval style, with thatched roofs and simple architecture. This is part because I wanted to create a medieval theme to my game, and part because its easier to model simple architecture than complex!

 

Modelling

I have been using Blender quite a bit these past few weeks, and have finally learned how to effectively create a model, texture it, and import it into Unity correctly. There was quite a learning curve, and I found myself frustrated at times, trying to decide whether to search for hours for a free model that suits my needs, or try to create one (which was a fruitless endeavor until I finally figured out the trick to texturing. The trick is unwrapping your models and getting the UV right!) I still have a lot to learn about Blender, but finally being able to create models and import them in game at the perfect size and height is making development go much smoother!

 

Programming

Probably the most fun part, a lot of the code I have written so far and plan to write revolves around simulating actions in the game. So for, I have very simple algorithms for people moving into your city, whether they are happy or not, when they apply for/get a job, etc. The game has a somewhat Sim City like quality in this respect, vs. other traditional RTS’s, where everything is based on resources, and buildings you create. I also have what I named achievements. These are akin to research in a normal RTS, but instead of going into a menu and clicking which item you wish to research and waiting X minutes, your civilization figures out various technology on its own, based on how you are building your city. For example, I have 3 achievements in game now.

Bartering system, which is achieved when you have a certain amount of citizens working (I think 100, maybe 60, don’t quite remember). This achievement lets your city be subject to supply and demand, and leads the way to other economic technologies.

The second is Community, which is achieved when you reach a certain level of happiness, and have no military buildings. This line of achievements would be for civilizations you wish to build as peaceful. It also unlocks a building (currently a shaman hut, but this may change).

The third is Chieftanism (I know, but I couldn’t think of a better word) which is achieved when you have a certain amount of soldiers/military strength. I haven’t fully ironed out the details for this achievement (or any of the others fully for that matter), but I plan on having military buildings reduce happiness less (currently, the only military building I have, a tower, reduces happiness by 25 points. With this achievement, perhaps it would be reduced to 10, or 12, or maybe 0).

 

Game Theme

I plan on this game being a sort of cross between Sim City, and Civilization. I didn’t want to have normal system of achievements like every other sim/civ game, so I will have research and technologies (and buildings) unlocked by how you build your city. Certain paths will have to be taken to unlock the best of a certain tree, or a middle ground to balance everything. I plan on having a fairly indepth governing system (similar to Sim city) where you can perhaps raise lower taxes, enact laws, etc. based on your achievements. For example, once the currency achievement is unlocked (which I figure will be the achievement after Bartering System) you can begin taxing your people (and taxes of course would depend on wealth level, type (ie income, residential, commercial, etc.), and others.

 

So far, the game is looking pretty good. I am god awful at modeling and am not afraid to admit it, but the models actually fit the theme and don’t look too bad. Hopefully i’ll be able to post a few screenshots later today.

Leave a Reply

