Progress Update

Posted: November 18, 2011 in Unity, Updates, Video Game Development
Tags: , ,

Just a small update to let you guys know about my progress do far. I haven’t made any new models, but have been working on the heavy programming that my simulation game entails.

I still haven’t decided on a name, but I have finished some milestones. I have finished simulating city desirability. In addition to that I have reworked how my building properties work, adding various methods to encapsulate things like adding city properties together.

I have also added a foundation for my achievements system, going from a few hardcoded achievements to abstracting the collection of achievements so I can easily add new ones.

For the future, I plan on working on a few things immediately. This includes simulating the properties of the rest of the world. I will use these properties to have something to compare to the city properties. I will use these comparisons to help calculate various things like desirability.
I also plan on adding some achievements and fine tuning my various simulations, like employment and population move in.

In the long term, I am considering translating my scripts to C#. I am considering this because C# has various features like operator overloading that I would love to take advantage of but unfortunately JavaScript doesn’t support.

If you have any suggestions please leave them in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

